California Worker's Compensation Law Resources
California State Home Page - http://www.ca.gov/state/portal/myca_homepage.jsp
California Department of Industrial Relations - http://www.dir.ca.gov/
Division of Workers Compensation - http://www.dir.ca.gov/DWC/dwc_home_page.htm
Golden Gate Ave., 9th Floor
P.O. Box 420603
San Francisco, CA 94142
1-800-736-7401 - an automated toll free telephone service with recorded messages to assist injured workers, employers and others in understanding California's workers' compensation system and their rights and responsibilities under the law.
Director - Richard P. Gannon
Acting Chief Deputy Administrative Director – George Mason
Assistant Chief - Richard W. Younkin
Administration Unit – Sven Norrlander, Manager
Audit Unit - Mark Johnson, Manager
Communications Unit - Richard Stephens, Manager
Program Evaluation & Training Unit:
Blair Megowan - Disability Evaluation Program Manager
Otis Byrd - Rehabilitation Program Manager
Information and Assistance Unit - Bob C. Wong, Manager
Legal Unit - Jacqueline Schauer, Manager
Medical Unit - Linda Rudolph, Medical Director
Research Unit - Jim Bellows, Manager
UEF/SIF Claims Unit - John Hopper, Manager
Claims Adjudication Unit/WCAB - Richard W. Younkin, Assistant Chief
Region - William Whiteley, Regional Manager
28 Civic Center Plaza, #554, Santa Ana 92701-4070, (714) 558-4968
Region - Mark Kahn, Regional Manager
6150 Van Nuys Blvd., #200, Van Nuys 91401-3373, (818) 901-5324
Region - Robert Kutz, Regional Manager
175 Lennon Lane, Room 200, Walnut Creek 94598-2469, (925) 977-7971
Whats new – http://www.dir.ca.gov/DWC/whatsnew.htm
Forms - http://www.dir.ca.gov/DWC/forms.html
NOTE: Electronic versions of these forms are currently being prepared for download. They will be posted as they become available
Title 8, California Code of Regulations --
The Administrative Director's regulations are Sections 9710 through 10204 and the WCAB rules are Sections 10300 through 10999.
Insurance requirement: Competitive state fund or self-insurance by private carrier insurance or individual employers.
Exemptions from WC: None
Medical benefits provided: Full
Physician selection: Employer selects initial physician. After a specified period employee has free choice.
Benefits for temporary total disability (TTD): 66 2/3 percent of worker’s wage for the duration of disability.
Benefits for permanent total disability (PTD): 66 2/3 percent of worker’s wage for life.
Benefits for permanent partial disability (PPD): 66 2/3 percent of worker’s wage for up to 619.25 weeks (applicable to a worker with a 99.5 percent disability). 3 to 8 weeks of workers’ compensation payable for each 1 percent of permanent disability, depending on severity. Hereafter, if disability is at least 70 percent, but not more than 99.75 percent, a life pension of 1.5 percent of the employee’s weekly earnings will be paid for each 1 percent of disability over 60 percent subject to a maximum weekly rate of $116.27.
Scheduled awards: N/A
Disfigurement benefits: No set figure, but the nature of the disfigurement shall be taken into account when determining the percentages of permanent disability.
Death benefits for surviving spouse and children: 66 2/3 percent of employee’s wage. Total amount payable is $145,000; or, with three or more dependents, $160,000.
Maximum burial allowance: $5,000
Waiting period: 3 days for temporary total disability only. Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for 14 days from date of injury.
Rehabilitation: Employer is responsible for vocational rehabilitation costs. They must also pay TTD and additional living expenses during physical and vocational rehabilitation. Mandatory payments generally capped at $16,000. Employees must request vocational rehabilitation within 15 years of the date of injury. Compensation will be withheld for refusal to cooperate. Employees receive TTD benefits plus maintenance at $247 (limited to 52 weeks) and living expenses necessitated by rehabilitation; terminated vocation rehabilitation services may be restored within 5 years after injury in certain cases.
Attorney fees: Determined by agency on an individual case basis.
Occupational hearing loss statutes: Employee has one year from date of discovery to file for compensation. Ratings for compensation purposes are determined as a percentage of permanent total disability.